SOWRA exists to:

  • Advance the standards of regional anaesthesia and pain management.
  • Encourage awareness of regional anaesthesia and pain management amongst the general public.
  • Provide a forum for regional anaesthetic enthusiasts within the south west region to meet and network
  • Provide training and educational updates in regional anaesthesia and pain management techniques.
  • Promoting research in all areas of regional anaesthetic practice.

South West Regional Anaesthesia Course

Every year (usually in November) SOWRA runs the popular South West Regional Anaesthesia Course.  

The course has been granted "RA-UK Approved" status in previous years ,and approval has been sought for 2020.RAUK approved

The 2020 course will be held on 26-27 November 2020 at Derriford Hospital, Plymouth.

Online registration is now open.

Subsidised places (50% discount) are offered for South West Penninsula Deanery trainees.

There is a 15% discount available for RA-UK members, and the course counts as a general qualifying (non-cadaver) course for the European Diploma in Regional Anaesthesia (EDRA).

Further details are available here

SOWRA Research Grants

Applications are now invited for research grants up to the value of £1000 to support clinical research projects related to regional anaesthesia.

More information available here.

The SOWRA Board of Trustees

The current SOWRA board of trustees are:

Chairman: Dr Matt Oldman (Plymouth)
Secretary: Dr Ross Vanstone (Plymouth)
Treasurer: Dr Kim Chishti (Plymouth)
Trustee Dr Andy McEwen (Torbay)
Trustee Dr Roger Langford (Truro)
Trustee Dr Iain Christie (Plymouth)


The SOWRA Annual Meeting 2010